Ten years looking at this world

Mark Pol
4 min readSep 1, 2022

Ten years of looking at this world of which I am also a part. Looking at us humans as isolated animals, roaming on a lonely, only, livable planet around a star, in this infinite universe. I look at those animals with amazement, who are doing their utmost to continuously turn this paradise into hell.

Ten years of my life I look at that human with increasing amazement and annoyance, who often lives in countries with some form of dictatorship. I see and read that our democratic example, the USA is slowly sliding into a dictatorial regime. That this slipping has been going on for a long time. That slide away from the USA will be followed by countries with an unstable political infrastructure and high levels of corruption.

Ten years of my life. Before that ten-year period came in, I was convinced, in my naivety, that this world would slowly moving in the right direction. By the word good, I mean: a similar distribution of the wealth of this earth. Good medical care for every inhabitant of this earth. Equal opportunities for every inhabitant of this earth. All respect for, equality and equal treatment of women. A bright and clear acknowledgment that woman is the cornerstone of our society. That dictatorships would no longer have a right to exist. That there would be no more wars and no more artificial borders. No more nuclear threat, etc. etc.

--

--

Mark Pol

I am an artist:painter. I paint and draw. Its a kind of figurative surrealism. www.saatchiart.com/markpol